Aim of the Program

The Computational Mechanics MSc Program, established in 1998, is organized by the NTUA Schools: Chemical Engineering – coordinator, Mechanical Engineering, Civil Engineering, Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering and Applied Mathematical and Physical Sciences.

The development of new and powerful computational systems, in conjunction with amazing progress in computational methods and means has led to the realistic modeling and effective simulation of natural phenomena and engineering processes and systems, aiming at the solution of challenging scientific and technical problems. Moreover, it has broadened the horizons of scientific research.

The overall aim of the MSc Program is to provide postgraduate studies which will prepare the student for either industrial employment or further research. The NTUA Schools provide advanced study and research in Fluid Mechanics and Structural Mechanics, two pillars of engineering science. These two topics are linked by the demand of industry for reliable analysis of fluid flow and complex structures, but are relevant either separately or combined in many areas of interdisciplinary research and applications.

The Computational Mechanics MSc Program is organized in two streams:

  • Computational Mechanics of Fluids
  • Computational Mechanics of Solids

The two streams share common core courses on basic and state-of-the-art computational methods.  Through the combination of certain mandatory and a variety of elective courses, the MSc Program offers “flavors” from various areas, ranging from process engineering and systems analysis to molecular simulation of materials and computational biomechanics.

The MSc Program is organized in three semesters. The first two are devoted for the attendance of courses; the third is devoted to the work on the Thesis, which is required for graduation. The Thesis topics are drawn from active research work performed by NTUA faculty.

Students are encouraged to conduct their Thesis work in collaboration with the industry or research centers, in Greece or abroad. Courses and Thesis credits sum up to 90 units of the European Credit Transfer System (ECTS).